12 replies to this topic

#1 copcheck

copcheck

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 02:28 AM

I'm heading out for a 2 day business trip and thought I'd take a shot at this one before I left.

Mustad 3123 #5

As usual, I forgot something, yellow in the throat.

I'm not disappointed with this one though, it's my first time working with Wood Duck feathers.  I wish I was able to get the wing shaped a little better, but I am happy that it laid nicely on the hook shank. 

I also gave a little better effort to clean up the head.

Hope you like it.

Jon

E60Gdhs.jpg

#2 bobfly

bobfly

Bob Frandsen. East Gippsland. Victoria. Australia

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,455 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 02:58 AM

Nice!!

#3 Ronn Lucas

Ronn Lucas

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • PipPipPip
  • 19,301 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 06:01 AM

Sweet!! Jon I think you've found your niche!!!

Happy Trails!
Ronn

My Website
http://www.ronnlucassr.com/
APPLE FRITTER BANDIT

#4 jockeyb6

jockeyb6

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 06:57 AM

Excellent fly! Looks great and this certainly is a good pattern choice.

#5 geraldsherbrook

geraldsherbrook

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19,617 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:03 AM

Dear JON,

Yes I like it !!! and I mean my words !!!

Ah ah ah steady practise pays off for everybody ...be it tying flies...be it doing other things...

Fly looks damned good  is all I will commentariat...because I love what I see !!! (got it ! hahahahaha)

Geert

Voted Sexiest Fly Tyer for 2013

#6 copcheck

copcheck

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 02:04 PM

Thanks everyone, that means a lot!

I think taking a couple days off from the vise will do me some good.