#1 Swill Gordon -1

Swill Gordon -1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 08:20 PM

All,

Today I got to handle and shoot the 1st edition at BYU.  Attached are a set of the photos.  I'm no professional photographer, and this little volume had some serious desire to remain closed, next time I will take a piece of non-glare glass to set on top of the little bugger so that I could concentrate on the camera. 

This little book is truely vest pocket size and the flies are tiny, the largest is about the size of a modern No. 10 or No.8 wet fly, though you can see from the images that the hooks are a bit more stout and have those lovely (Phillips?) point, barb and bend...

The colors are remarkably vibrant, it was a priviledge to see this in person.

Cheers,

Swill

PS,  Per the note below from Iaho in Sweden regarding the auction price of 187,000+ pounds, I have attached a note from the web describing this event.  Interesting history...

http://www.mooreallen.co.uk/auction-house/news-events/25-october-sale-blackers

Attached Files

Dave White aka "Swill Gordon"

Stay Thirsty, My Friends...

#2 Speyfly89

Speyfly89

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,206 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 08:30 PM

Super!!! Thanks for posting this
"The swing is the thing, the tug is the drug" unknown source

Kevin

#3 bobfly

bobfly

Bob Frandsen. East Gippsland. Victoria. Australia

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,455 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 09:05 PM

If only!!!!!!!!!!!

#4 Marc LeBlanc

Marc LeBlanc

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,832 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 09:11 PM

Wow!.  What a treat to look at those photos.  Thanks! 

Marc 

#5 Swill Gordon -1

Swill Gordon -1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 09:43 PM

If only!!!!!!!!!!!

Bob,