#1 Mike Boyer

Mike Boyer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,651 posts

Posted 27 April 2013 - 05:57 PM

The Mearns Fly

I have been tying traditional Salmon Flies for over twenty years, and somewhere along the way i've been inspired to tie my own creative flies, based on the more traditional fly structure. One such fly is the Mearns. The Mearns or Montezuma Quail is also known as the Harlequin Quail because of its bold spotted and marked feathers. A friend of mine hunts these and other native birds in the winter months in Arizona. He asked me if I could tie a fly using only Mearns as the feathers used in the fly. This is the fly I came up with. The only other feathers used are the Golden Pheasant crests.

Rather than step by step, I'll show the fly in four stages, then describe the details of each stage.

1. The hook is a long shanked blind eye usually used for traditional Dee flies. The first step is to tie in the twisted gut eye (two strands of silk worm gut soaked, twisted together tightly, and formed into an eye). Using white 70 denier Ultra thread, I wind the thread back to the tag area, using edge to edge wraps, and untwisting the thread every ten wraps or so to lay flat on the shank.