35 replies to this topic

#1 Barkworth

Barkworth

ClassicFlyTying.net

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,239 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 08:18 AM

Very often, there are moments in the day where fishing a wet fly or a streamer simply isn't an option. I have succesfully changed to dry flies at such times before, but I am a complete noob on the subject. I found the White Wulff to be very effective, but after a few casts in a decent stream, it tends to sink. I use "spray dry" and stuff, but still...

Joonas recommended me a Finnish classic named Nalle Puh. It is brown and floats like a dream, so now I have a brown and a white favorite.

My question for you today is, what can I do when tying a dry fly, to improve it's floating capabilities, and are there any other patterns to recommend for Salmon on a sunny day or right before sunset?

Thanks in advance!

www.ClassicFlyTying.net

the reference guide for traditional salmon fly tying...

#2 Jare

Jare

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 08:49 AM

Sorry, I have to correct the name of the Finnish classic. It's Nalle Puh (Winnie the pooh in english).

#3 geraldsherbrook

geraldsherbrook

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19,617 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 10:39 AM

Dear ROBERT,

psttttttttttttttttttttttttt go searching on the net ...for UNSINKEBAL DRY FLIES !!!...by a certain DAVID COWARDIN !!! (he works with shrink tubes (heating them) putting in a sort of 'air bubble' in them !!! WORKS !!!

and ofcourse as we are all still a bit of the 'old' categorie...POLYPROPYLENE 'wingposts' of every possible visible colour ...DOES hold extemely well in 'FAST FLOWING WATER'...and this as prolypropylene WORKS to................as long their buoyancy isn't in contact with debrisses and sand or other things ...but believe me prolypropylene is lighter than any water...and thus floats !!!...