• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 TIER

TIER

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 November 2019 - 04:14 PM

I am new to the whole artistic fly thing. I was wondering if you could show me your flies, and how to tie them. I already do dry flies, some nymphs, a few streamers, and a lot of saltwater. Thanks in advance!

Signed, 

James (TIER) Fox

Fishen' for grayling is legit

#2 alchemist

alchemist

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts

Posted 11 November 2019 - 04:55 PM

Where do you live?  Finding someone nearby that you could learn from Hands on would be important.

#3 TIER

TIER

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 November 2019 - 04:56 PM

I live in Delta junction, Alaska.

#4 mfhughesjr

mfhughesjr

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts

Posted 11 November 2019 - 11:15 PM

James,

Nothing beats having someone show you in person. When I started tying in rural SC in the late 80s and early 90s, it was teach yourself and it was frustrating. I found a mentor who tied streamers, and after some searching, the Salmon Flyer. Both helped a great deal, but I wish the forum had been around then.

To your question, there are many pictures in the threads -- classics and artistics.  There are good members here, ready to mentor and provide advice, and there is the tutorials forum. It has three or four excellent full step-by-steps, as well as "sectionals" -- tying tips and tags, tying underbodies, mounting wings, etc.

Are you interested in tying the classics, or do you want to tie artistic, freestyle flies? Depending upon your level, I'd start with classic flies that are at your skill level, or ones that just push a little, and go from there. If you're going to be tying for the desk or the wall, it's going to take patience and control -- of thread, floss, feathers, dubbing, etc. Technique and repetition are important.