• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Daxrkara

Daxrkara

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 20 September 2018 - 07:49 PM

Hey guys, I am a newcomer to this forum and glad to be here ! I have been inspired by these flies since I first started tying. I finally took the plunge last winter on classic feather wing wet flies. My approach to these so far has been keeping things simple as I'm just getting started and don't want to get too intricate too fast without getting the basics honed down. Ive stuck with smaller wets, and just recently started my first full dress (style) Salmon fly. I'm moderately happy with the fly up to where I'm stuck at....... yep you guessed it, Tying in the married wing. I'll predicate this by saying this is my first married wing on a fly. prior to this I've been using single slips of turkey, Mallard working on getting the feather positioning right so the wing sits correctly. After having destroyed many beautiful feathers I feel like I'm in a place where I've gotten (some) understanding of what I need to do to get the wings to sit proper. However, when tying in the married wing I am consistently having problems with the far wing collapsing, creasing etc. Im using a combination of Turkey, Pheasant, and Goose shoulder. I am also curious if there is a correlation to how much the wing should be in contact with the shank relative to the thickness of the wing. Lots of questions ! I apologize, I understand this is probably a topic  that comes up quite a bit, I would greatly appreciate any input, references etc. 

Thanks again 

-Dax 

#2 jgogg

jgogg

Jim Goggans

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,163 posts

Posted 20 September 2018 - 09:08 PM

Darwin award winner of flytying

#3 jgogg

jgogg

Jim Goggans

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,163 posts

Posted 20 September 2018 - 09:11 PM