• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Slarssen

Slarssen

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 10 August 2017 - 08:13 PM

So, I'm new here, and I'm a beginner salmon fly tier. I've been stalking around here for some time, looking and getting inspired to try new techniques and patterns. A lot of really good flies to get inspired from here.

So today I unleashed my tyingthread on one of Blackers Spirit flies, the second. Did not look so difficult just reading through the material list, but boy was I wrong. This might be the hardest fly I tried!

I'm not very skilled yet but I'm tying a lot of flies nowadays and I am having a great time doing these old style classics while trying to understand and handling different techniques like mixed wings, built wings and married wings. I feel somewhat capable doing married wings, but for this fly I wanted to do it as a built wing, adding single strips of each individual materials at a time. This was very hard to do right.

So I thought I would like to try and share this here with you guys and get som proper feedback so please do come with any comments or thoughts you have.

Tied on a size 3 Limeric hook. The wing is heavily substituted as I don't want to use expensive and rare materials just yet while I'm still learning. And for the Puce colored silk I simply used black. 

I wish I made the wing longer, so to match blackers drawing more. Also, I think I should have used a bigger hook (it is supposed to be a size 3 but it measures like a 1.5 on one of those hook scales).

Attached File  DSCF1621.JPG   91.26K   126 downloadsAttached File  DSCF1623.JPG   83.32K   129 downloads

#2 Jim_Montgomery

Jim_Montgomery

Vero Beach, FL USA

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 855 posts

Posted 10 August 2017 - 10:09 PM

Welcome to the forum. You are among the best and I am sure help will be forth coming.