11 replies to this topic

#1 mfhughesjr

mfhughesjr

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts

Posted 12 November 2019 - 05:47 PM

Another set of pages for those with an historical interest.  An article by J. Harrington Keene, published in the Boy's Own Paper in August 1882.  Enjoy!

Attached File  1882-08-05_Boys_Own_Paper_1_resized.jpg   201.41K   38 downloadsAttached File  1882-08-05_Boys_Own_Paper_2_resized.jpg   108.03K   37 downloadsAttached File  1882-08-12_Boys_Own_Paper_1_resized.jpg   376.09K   21 downloadsAttached File  1882-08-12_Boys_Own_Paper_2_resized.jpg   31.14K   17 downloads

Michael

#2 Flytyedryrepeat07

Flytyedryrepeat07

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 December 2019 - 06:43 PM

That's cool that you could find those. Are you going to try to tie those fly's?

#3 mfhughesjr

mfhughesjr

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts

Posted 14 December 2019 - 12:41 AM

I've been tying and researching flies since the 1990s.  The Shannon, Goldfinch and Ondine were earlier flies, published in Ephemera (Fitzgibbon).  He wrote in Bell's Life before (and after) his own books were published.  Those books are available on-line through Google books, the Biodiversity Library, archive.org, hathitrust.org, and other sites.

As for tying the flies, I tied a couple Ondines many years ago.  The blue peacock was not easy to work with, and I used small green peacock feathers as subs for the trogon wraps.  They weren't the exact green -- lighter in shade and denser, now that I've compared them with a real feather -- but were iridescent.  I'll see if I can find the fly and post it.  Otherwise, time for another in the vise.

If you're interested in patterns and sources, I'll definitely be glad to help.

As for learning to tie, I and others here are always glad to take questions.  (There are also a couple sites and Facebook that are a little more active, though this was the first -- or one of the first.)

Michael

#4 Alex Hayes