#1 Classic Salmon Fly Tyer

Classic Salmon Fly Tyer

Just living the dream....

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,457 posts

Posted 16 January 2018 - 12:56 PM

Good morning everyone!!

Like the subject line says...I guess it can happen. I've been working on a number of needed trout flies for the coming season. Exciting stuff like Rusty Spinners, Pale Watery Spinners, Scuds, stonefly nymphs, etc, etc. Strangely I have had absolutely no urge to put a hook in the vise and tie a classic pattern...maybe one I've never done before, or something I haven't tied in a while, or something creative like John McLain, Copcheck and Gordeaux  have been encouraging me to do.

It seems almost like what is commonly known as "writers block". This site is like going to a therapist on a certain level...so I must ask...Does this ever occur with any my fellow tyers out there? I mean I want to get back into tying something special...but the brain just won't click into gear...and I have no clue when it might do so.

Thoughts ladies and gentlemen.....

Cheers,

George

Petri Heil,

George

"I've spent many days on the golf course and said I should have gone fishing.

But I've NEVER been on a trout stream or Atlantic Salmon river and said I should have played golf." - Me

#2 Troutmaddave

Troutmaddave

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 853 posts

Posted 16 January 2018 - 01:17 PM

It kinda happened for me at the beginning of this tying season. No interest. All I could be bothered tying was Irish style wets and dries. And making a couple of fly boxes.
I kept trolling through books, looking here and nothing clicked. I even watched Kiss The Water a couple of times, which usually works!! Still nothing
Then one day...............
Don't sweat it George.
Tie a Durham Ranger and post it here, I'll tie one as well!!
Ready........steady........................go!!!
Cheers
Dave

#3 bags6lax

bags6lax

Stow, MA USA

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,210 posts

Posted 16 January 2018 - 01:49 PM